Covering genealogy, family history, historical events and places, and anything else related!

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

North Carolina Cedes Six Western Counties

American History Leaflets: Colonial and Constitutional. Edited by Albert Bushnell Hart and Edward Channing. No. 22 (July 1895). New York: A. Lovell & Company. Page 26. Available from Google Books.

On 22 December 1789, North Carolina ceded six western counties to the Continental Congress. These counties had been part of the state of Franklin, and had returned to North Carolina once Franklin dissolved. These counties became the Southwest Territory, which became the state of Tennessee.

Southwest Territory
The State of Franklin and Tennessee Aborning

No comments:

Post a Comment